What's In A Book?

What's In A Book? Everything Imaginable! The Plum Tree Book Forum

Maximum Speed: Pushing the Limit – Joanna Lee Doster

image

This is our first blog post from What’s In A Book. On these pages, we hope to feature the Plum Tree team of reviewers; as they sift and sort through various new releases from a range of genres and styles: crime thriller to children’s, romance to spiritual, poetry and literature; from light and entertaining to books with meat on their bones. We hope to engage you, the reader, in discussion. We would love to hear your comments and suggestions. We will be featuring all sorts of different events: live interviews, authors commenting on their own works, group discussion of a particular book by our team of reviewers, giveaways,  analysis, notification of new releases…

Maximum Speed: Pushing the Limit

Joanna Lee Doster

iUniverse

ISBN-10: 1450293980

ISBN-13: 978-1450293983

Remember this name, readers, because Doster is one writer who is going places. After reading Maximum Speed: Pushing The Limit, I have no doubt about that. And she’ll most likely end up in the NASCAR Hall of Fame too… Not for racing, of course, but for the thrilling book she’s written about this internationally famous stock-car sport. 🙂

I kid you not! This author hooked me from page one of this exciting race-car drama. Our 23-year-old main character, Sean Devlin, is having a recurring nightmare about being killed in a car race… His horror is so realistic, I just had to read on to see what’s happening in his daily life to frighten him so.

Sean is a professional, third-generation race-car driver, a well-rounded young man with good family values and the courage that makes a great racer. Born and bred into the business, he’s the prime example of heroism and valor. So why is someone out to get him? Why are they trying to destroy the Devlin Motor Sports Team? What happens when Jimmy Stanton, one of their top racers is kidnapped, and how does Sean get injured while trying to save him?

Will Jimmy and Sean be all right? Will the racing team be victorious? But most important, who is behind these vicious attempts to harm this legendary NASCAR racing family? You will be surprised at the role the senior Devlin plays in the expository ending, as I was. What a reading adventure; as much fun as watching a race in action.

In the love department, when Sean barely escapes a near-fatal automobile accident, I was intrigued by the two young women beside him when he awakens in the hospital. What roles do Daniella Lawson and Dakota Phillips play in the drama?

Those are all questions that Doster answers with aplomb before the story reaches its satisfying conclusion. You will have to read for yourself to find out…

In addition to an exciting plot set in the often glamorous world of stock-car racing with glimpses of New York, this book is very well-paced. It’s not perfectly paced, but is still a page-turner that has more twists and turns than the Florida racetrack which her fictional Devlin family dominates.

This book is billed as Young Adult, but with racing and cars this author has captured male readers of all generations. With the obvious family love and loyalty of the Devlins along with liberal doses of male/female relationships, she’s also captured the female audience. And since young girls are often mesmerized by stock-car racing, also, it appears that Doster has covered all bases… er, make that all tracks… 🙂 Thus, a more accurate category for this book would be either “Kids of All Ages” or “Young Adult/Adult Crossover.”

But it doesn’t matter how they bill it, once you start reading this enticing book, you’ll immediately recognize it was written for you; you’ll be so wrapped up puzzling over what happens next that you won’t be able to put it down. In fact, my fingers scrolled as fast as the “Maximum Speed” of the title…and that’s pretty darned fast.

Fasten your seatbelts, folks! You’re in for the “read” of your life. 🙂

Kudos to Joanna Lee Doster for writing so smoothly, enabling reading to be a joyful experiences for her many fans. While reading, I came to care for these characters and since the ending seemed to scream for a sequel, I hope she writes fast. I’m ready for more of Sean, the Devlins and their friends.

Reviewer: Betty Dravis

Betty Dravis is an award-winning newspaper publisher and career journalist/cable TV talk show host. She’s a celebrity interviewer and award-winning author (and co-author) of seven books. This devoted mother and grandmother is an honorary Kentucky Colonet, in two Whos’ Who books, San Jose Woman of Achievement, etc. Her most recent awards are: Best Paranormal/Horror (with co-author Barbara Watkins); she recently placed #18 in Fourth Annual Shorty Awards and in Top 20 of 2011 Best Women’s Fiction. Visit Betty at her website, Facebook page, and Amazon author page.

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamhchildrensbooks.com

16 comments on “Maximum Speed: Pushing the Limit – Joanna Lee Doster

  1. I am so excited to launch this new page. We have many great reviewers and some wonderful authors. Thanks Betty, for being our first reviewer and giving us such a fabulous review of Joanna Doster’s wonderful book.

    • Joanna Lee Doster
      May 22, 2012

      Dear Niamh,
      Please see my additional thank yous and extreme appreciation and gratitude below, Niamh, I personally wanted to thank you and apologize for my being remiss in not proclaiming my thrill, delight, and surprise to you sooner; about the incredible Betty Dravis interview of my book,” Maximum Speed” chosen to be the first book to launch your new and exciting “Whats In A Book” site.. What a true honor and I shall never forget it.Thank you so very very very much Niamh!!!! Best, Joanna Lee Doster PS You are incredible.Niamh!

  2. echowood628
    May 20, 2012

    this is absolutely wonderful…the blending and appreciation of everyone’s gifts combined…everything imaginable is truly found in a book…<3

    • ontheplumtree
      May 20, 2012

      Yes it is! Hopefully, we can offer a whole gamut of excitement!

      • echowood628
        May 22, 2012

        you are amazing niamh and your husband is too….angels on earth…and for that matter everyone in the plum tree group…i fear books will become extinct and the world of technology is desensitizing our young people…be it as it may i feel it…libraries a thing of the past…there is nothing more exhilarating than the smell fresh pressed ink when i walk into a book store…

  3. Betty Dravis
    May 20, 2012

    Niamh, I’m surprised and honored to be the very first review on THE PLUM TREE “wHAT’S IN A BOOK?” This is an impressive addition to the already fabulous TREE whereon all authors want to blossom. Thanks so much to you and your team of creative geniuses.

    You could not have chosen a finer book to feature. I’m a new fan of Joanna Lee Doster, and a huge fan. Can’t wait to discover more PT authors.

    Hugs and gratitude – Bettty Dravis

    • Joanna Lee Doster
      May 22, 2012

      Dearest Betty, Niamh and Plum Tree members. I want to let you know how honored and thrilled i am to have Betty Dravis;s fabulous review of my book be the first one to officially launch this spectacular new and exciting “What’s In A Book” site..Betty, I have long revered you and looked up to you as a brilliant writer extraordinaire, as well as having your gazillion myriad of talents, and for being one of the most compassionate, loving,, generous of spirit, special and rare human beings on earth. i have been long overdue in my comments to you and Niamh and fellow Plum Tree members, but honestly I haven’t come down from the clouds yet after gazing upon your incredibly written, comprehensive, full of lush insights, awe-inspiring. glorious review of my book, ” Maximum Speed: Pushing The Limit.” I feel doubly blessed to have you in my life and to have the best guide since I am writing the sequel to maximum Speed. I am still walking on clouds. They are definitely singing Niamh’s praises too!!! With much appreciation and my deep gratitude Joanna Lee Doster

      • ontheplumtree
        May 23, 2012

        Thank you Joanna for your kind comments. I am very happy to post your reviews. We are working out a rosta, and we will be doing a review a day. Brianna is helping me now to post, so I am very happy about that. We will use a google doc so that people can add their info directly to that. Neat! Saves time.

  4. Really enjoyed the review; I’m hooked

  5. Ashley Fontainne
    May 20, 2012

    Betty, another fantastic review! Joanns’s book is incredible and full of adrenaline, pulse-quickening speed and intrigue. I thoroughly enjoyed your review, as well as the book, and can’t wait for the sequel!

    • Joanna Lee Doster
      May 22, 2012

      Thank you so much Ashley, for your great comments about my book, Maximum Speed and the mention of the incredible review it received from the renown Betty Dravis. Coming from you, one of the most gifted writers of : suspense, mystery thrillers, poetry, and short stories, I am so flattered and honored. I must mention that your latest book, “Ramblings of A Mad Southern Woman” is another hit-run for you that I found to be so artfully written,and riveting. .

  6. Darlene
    May 21, 2012

    Congratulations on another great site! I love reading book reviews and Betty did a fabulous job reviewing this book. What a super start. Look forward to more posts.

  7. mapelba
    May 22, 2012

    I’m looking forward to what follows–not that I don’t already have more books to read than I can ever get to.

Leave a Reply

