What's In A Book?

What's In A Book? Everything Imaginable! The Plum Tree Book Forum

Bobo the Race Car – Concetta M. Payne

photo

Bobo the Race CarConcetta M. Payne

Mirror Publishing

ISBN-10: 1936046237

ISBN-13: 978-1936046232

I am so excited I can’t wait to share my news with all of you. My name is BoBo and I am a bright blue racecar and I am so excited. This news is so great and so amazing that I can’t believe it. The Poco Race Track is having its first big event. This is huge. I have always wanted to compete in a big race along with my best friends, Gator, Big Foot and Saber. I better call them and see if they are interested in entering along with me. It would be no fun without them.

Gator is forest green, Saber is red, Big Foot yellow and of course I am blue. We’ve been best friends forever and I hope they will sign up for the big race next week. This great event and story comes to you from the creative imagination of author Concetta M Payne. I was brought to live in beautiful Technicolor along with my friends by illustrator Marianna Dragomirova.

I called all of my friends and they agreed to compete in the race. But, first we needed to practice. Without practice, checking our brakes and giving ourselves a full mechanical checkup we could not be sure that we were in tiptop condition. Practice began bright and early the next morning and low and behold the unthinkable happened. Big Foot looked a little under par. Losing speed on his turns worried me and I think he might need some engine repairs. How am I going to tell him this before the big race?

Friendship is more important than anything and even if he gets mad, still have to tell him the bad news. I know. We will all tell him together and hope he realizes just how important his safety is to all of us and that we want him to compete in the race, but safely.

Big Foot was not happy but he knew we were only doing this for his own good. I made him come to my garage where we all worked on the engine. But, could we repair it in time for the big race? Would I be able to get all of the parts he needed to repair his engine? I hope so.

The day of the race is here. Everyone is performing their final checks of their controls and getting ready for the flag to drop. With the help of our talented author this race came to life. Describing the cars as they lined up, the blow-by-blow description of the race from start to finish you could feel the excitement and the air was filled with electricity as the cars raced around the track until one car crossed the finish line. Which one I will keep under the hood for now.  Racing with my friends was the best, but what happens to Big Foot and who wins you have to read for yourself. “

Friendships mean more than winning. Everyone wants to be a leader and come out ahead. But, when one person or in this case car is in trouble, what these other three friends do with endear you to Saber, Big Foot, Gator and most of all BoBo forever. Who won the race? Ask the winner or better yet read this story for yourself and find out.

The illustrations are so vivid and clear they tell their own story. Children who are non-readers and like to read and make up their own version of a story can from reading the book and just looking at the pictures. But, their tale is not over yet. You need to read what happens next to all four cars in the sequel BoBo Races on “Tricky Triangle,” by Concetta M Payne.

This book teaches friendship, kindness, caring and understanding of others. A great way to teach character education and a wonderful book for all elementary school classrooms or libraries as a great read aloud.

This book gets a five-racecar review.

Reviewer: Fran Lewis

Fran worked in the NYC Public Schools as the Reading and Writing Staff Developer for over 36 years. She has three masters degrees and a PhD in Supervision and Administration. Currently, she is a member of Who’s Who of America’s Teachers and Who’s Who of America’s Executives from Cambridge. In addition, she is the author of three children’s books and a fourth that has just been published  on Alzheimer’s disease in order to honor her mom and help create more awareness for a cure. The title of her new Alzheimer’s book is Memories are Precious: Alzheimer’s Journey: Ruth’s Story. She is also the author of Because We Care and Sharp as A Tack or Scrambled Eggs: Which Describes Your Brain? Her latest book is Faces Behind the Stones. She was the musical director for shows at her school and ran the school’s newspaper. Fran writes reviews for authors upon request for several sites. You can read some of her reviews on Ezine.com and on ijustfinished.com under the name Gabina. You can visit Fran at her website, blog, and book review blog.

8 comments on “Bobo the Race Car – Concetta M. Payne

  1. ontheplumtree
    May 28, 2012

    Oh! This looks like fun!

  2. Concetta is a talented author and I love reading and reviewing her work. Fran

    • Concetta M Payne
      May 28, 2012

      Thank you!
      I am humbled and honored, Fran.

  3. Betty Dravis
    May 28, 2012

    What a fun, exciting review, Fran. I do adore reading children’s picture books; I used to review a lot of them, but got waylaid by so many dear friends writing adult books. Must get back to it… Fine job!

    Thanks, Niamh, for bringing this reviewer and this book to the world.

    Hugs – Betty Dravis

    • Concetta Payne
      May 28, 2012

      Thank you so much Betty for your kind words. Fran Lewis has more talent than any other person I know. A person I truly admire, trust and care about. She is a jack of all trades, and has mastered them all. Thank you Fran for all you have done and continue to do.

    • ontheplumtree
      May 28, 2012

      And we must also thank Brianna Solkowski for uploading these reviews. She is doing a sterling job.

      • Concetta Payne
        May 28, 2012

        Sorrry I did not mention Brianna Soloski here. However, I did mention her on FB. I do apologize Brianna. Your review was greatly appreciated and well done.

  4. Brianna Soloski
    May 28, 2012

    It’s my pleasure. I’m glad we’re able to get exposure for everyone’s books.

Leave a Reply

