What's In A Book?

What's In A Book? Everything Imaginable! The Plum Tree Book Forum

August 23 at Four Eastern: Blog Talk Radio: Interviewing: John Lescroart

Join me on Blog Talk Radio: Focus Discussions with Fran Lewis when I interview author John Lescroart. John will discuss his latest release the Hunter, other novels, publishing experiences and take questions in the chat room.
John Lescroart is a New York Times bestselling author of nineteen novels, including most recently BETRAYAL, which is the fourteenth book in the San Francisco based Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky series, a stand-alone Wyatt Hunt novel entitled THE HUNT CLUB and a couple of Sherlock Holmes pastiches: SON OF HOLMES and its sequel, RASPUTIN’S REVENGE. His books have been translated into seventeen languages in more than seventy-five countries, and his short stories have been included in many anthologies.Outside of the book world, John loves to cook. His original recipes have appeared in Gourmet Magazine and in the cookbook “A Taste of Murder.” (He also wrote the forward to Francine Brevetti’s paean to the famous San Francisco eatery Fior d’Italia entitled The Fabulous Fior: 100 Years in an Italian Kitchen.)

About Dr Niamh

When I was a little girl (a very, very long time ago), I used to love learning new, really big words like ‘discombobulate’. As I grew, my love of words grew too, until I loved them so much, I could not stop writing them down. One day, as I was scribbling a particular word, a very peculiar thing happened. The word shouted at me, “Stop! Don’t put me there!” As you can imagine, I was shocked and nearly fell off my chair. When I recovered somewhat, I said to the word, “Could you stop shouting, please? I am not used to it.” Can you guess what happened next? No! I thought not. The word said, “I might be small, but I will misbehave if you do not use me properly. I will not tell the story you would like me to tell. I will say something entirely different!” I dropped my pen. I hoped that by dropping my pen, the word would stop talking. Alas! It did not. It carried on chitterchobbling, even after the ink had dried. I was in a pickle. I could not allow my words to run away with my story, now could I? I don’t know about you, but when this sort of thing happens, there is only one thing left to do if you prefer not to spend your time arguing. “Very well,” said I. “I will do as you ask if you will just be quiet and allow me to concentrate.” Since that day, I have been paying special attention to every word I invite into my stories. After all, a story should say exactly what it means to say and not be led astray. With love from Dr. Niamh, Ph.D in Learning Through The Imagination and Founder of Dr Niamh Children's Books. www.drniamh.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
