What's In A Book?

What's In A Book? Everything Imaginable! The Plum Tree Book Forum

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened – Jenny Lawson

photo

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

Publisher: Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

316 pages

4/5 stars

Before I heard about Let’s Pretend, I had no idea who The Bloggess was. I suppose this probably means I live under a rock, which will not come as a shock to anyone who knows me. Anyway, I heard about Let’s Pretend on the library website – each week they post the new releases and you can get on the list to borrow books, movies, and music. I waited about a month for the book to come in. When it finally did, I was excited to dig in, but I was also apprehensive – I have never been a huge fan of memoirs/biographies/autobiographies. I would rather read fiction and get lost in a story. You can’t really get lost in the story when you’re reading about someone else’s life.

Let’s Pretend has changed my mind completely. I am hooked on the memoir genre, especially those written by funny women. And Lawson is hilarious. I couldn’t read this book anywhere but in the privacy of my room because I was laughing so much. Lawson recounts stories from childhood and adulthood with a candor I haven’t seen in too many other books. She is not afraid to use foul language, although it’s not constant and fits with whatever story she’s telling at the time.

There is one story in which she gets lost after going to the store to get milk and calls her husband to help her get home. I laughed through the entire thing, because I could completely relate to that feeling of having lived in a place for a long time, but still not fully knowing how to get around.

There are 30+ stories in the book, some of them illustrated with photos to further expand the story. The writing style is easy to read, it almost feels as if you’re sitting in a coffee shop with her and she’s telling you the story. I wish I knew The Bloggess in real life – I think she’d be that friend you call when you’re having a ridiculously awful day and need cheering up.

Let’s Pretend is the perfect beach read and I almost wish I had saved it for my upcoming vacation, but there are tons more books in this genre that will get the job done.

Disclaimer: Book checked out from my local library.

Reviewer: Brianna Soloski

Leave a Reply

