What's In A Book?

What's In A Book? Everything Imaginable! The Plum Tree Book Forum

Cataclysm Baby – Matt Bell

photo

Cataclysm Baby by Matt Bell

105 pages

5/5 stars

I don’t really know where to begin with Cataclysm Baby. It’s a quick read. I read it in three days. I wish I could read all books that quickly.

Cataclysm Baby is divided into 26 short chapters, one for each letter of the alphabet and each titled with people’s names. Told from the perspective of the fathers, each chapter tells the story of oddly made children – children born with fur, children with bones that disintegrate as soon as they’re touched.

This is not typically the sort of book I would read, but I am trying to branch out in my genre choices. I’m so glad I did. Bell’s writing style is lyrical – not quite poetry, but more than prose. His descriptions are vividly simple and left me wishing he’d illustrated the darn thing. I would love to see some of these children brought to life.

It almost feels as if you’re dreaming while reading the stories. You know it’s not possible for children like this to exist (or maybe it is), but the descriptions are so vivid that you find the children and the parents in your dreams.

I’d have a hard time picking a favorite story from this collection, since they were all magical in their own way. I am looking forward to reading Bell’s other books, as well as other books published by MudLuscious Press.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book directly from the author. My thanks to Matt Bell for the opportunity to read and review his latest work.

Leave a Reply

